Security This Week is a podcast for those curious about recent IT security breach events, what they mean, how they were achieved, and how to prevent similar attacks from happening to you.


Episodes

Search Shows:  
Hate group gets hacked and complains about it (60)
Saturday, September 17, 2022
Kiwi Farms has been breached; assume passwords and emails have been leaked

It's Uber time. Do you know where your teenager is? (59)
Saturday, September 10, 2022
Uber computer systems breached by ‘teen’ in major security alert

Conti Members Strike Back! (58)
Saturday, September 3, 2022
Former Conti ransomware members are allegedly regrouping to attack Ukraine

Watch out for that Galaxy! (57)
Saturday, August 27, 2022
A hacker has been using an image taken by the James Webb Space Telescope to load malware onto Windows computers.

Uninstall TikTok Now! (56)
Saturday, August 20, 2022
TikTok can monitor users’ keystrokes, and could collect passwords, and credit card info, researcher claims

When SMS Attacks (55)
Saturday, August 13, 2022
If you get a constant barrage of SMS messages asking you to confirm a login, you may have already been hacked.

We Don't Know How Bad It Really Is (54)
Saturday, August 6, 2022
New vulnerabilities are making experts wonder how many are yet to be discovered.

Microsoft Comes to Their Senses (53)
Saturday, July 30, 2022
Microsoft did a 180 and blocked Office macros, but is it enough?

Happy Anniversary! (52)
Saturday, July 23, 2022
Security This Week published its first show one year ago yo the day.

Has Microsoft Lost Their Mind? (51)
Saturday, July 16, 2022
Microsoft rolls back the decision to block Office macros by default! WTF!

Apple Lockdown Mode is Coming! (50)
Saturday, July 9, 2022
Apple announced that a new security feature known as Lockdown Mode will roll out with iOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS Ventura to protect high-risk individuals against targeted spyware attacks.

Where's Udi? (49)
Saturday, July 2, 2022
Users of the Strava running app can use fake routes to track other users wherever they are!

Knocking RSocks Off! (48)
Saturday, June 18, 2022
The FBI disrupted a Russian botnet after it hacked millions of devices, and that's not even the scariest story of the week!

BLTCoin: Sandwich-based currency (47)
Saturday, June 11, 2022
Local high-tech crime units are tracking and seizing stolen cryptocurrency

The Office they Come, the Protocol they Fall (46)
Saturday, June 4, 2022
The big story this week involves a massive zero-day vulnerability in Microsoft Office.

Hat Colors Explained (45)
Saturday, May 28, 2022
Duane and Patrick school Carl on what hacker hat colors mean

Space Pirates Attack! (44)
Saturday, May 21, 2022
Chinese Space Pirates are hacking Russian aerospace firms. Film at 11.

Beware Thy Neighbor! (43)
Saturday, May 14, 2022
Sometimes your neighbors infringe on your rights. The same thing happens in multi-tenant systems. All will be explained.

Is Cheating at Gaming a Gateway Drug? (42)
Saturday, May 7, 2022
If you want to see the next generation of hackers, consider monitoring the gaming cheats industry

The Game that Takes Down Russia (41)
Saturday, April 30, 2022
You can play a game that, when you play it, will help take down Russian websites.

To Quantum and NOT to Quantum (40)
Saturday, April 23, 2022
Schrödinger's cat is dead! Or is it?

Windows Patch Tuesday (39)
Saturday, April 16, 2022
Microsoft patched 120+ Windows flaws last week!

Google says Oops! (38)
Saturday, April 9, 2022
Last week, Google sent a security patch to 3.2 billion users of Chrome

Springtime brings a Spring Vulnerability (37)
Saturday, April 2, 2022
A new vulnerability in the Spring framework, a tool for programmers, may become the new Log4J

What's in a Password? (36)
Saturday, March 26, 2022
Is a longer password with numbers, lower and uppercase letters, and symbols harder to hack?

Russia and Facebook Cancel Each Other (35)
Saturday, March 19, 2022
Facebook blocked Russia right after Russia blocked Facebook

Watch out for the Dirty Pipe! (34)
Saturday, March 12, 2022
As the kinetic war (and cyberwar) between Ukraine and Russia marches on, a new Linux exploit wreaks havoc on all Linux (and therefore Android) systems. Patch it!

Hackers Get Involved! (33)
Saturday, March 5, 2022
As Russia wages war on Ukraine, we see stories emerging of hacking groups on both sides joining the cyberwar.

No News This Week (just kidding) (32)
Saturday, February 26, 2022
Russia, Ukraine, Ransomware, and you.

Verify! Verify! Verify! (31)
Saturday, February 19, 2022
Many scammers can be foiled by asking a simple question.

Macros Shmacros! (30)
Saturday, February 12, 2022
This week, Microsoft got around to disabling Internet macros in Office apps by default. Brilliant!

Hacker Takes down North Korea's Internet in his Pajamas (29)
Saturday, February 5, 2022
Why North Korea's Internet was wearing the hacker's pajamas we'll never know!

What if you lost your phone? (28)
Saturday, January 29, 2022
Prepare for the prospect that someday your phone may be lost or stolen.

From Russia, with Love (27)
Saturday, January 22, 2022
Looks like Russia is hacking Ukraine. Who knew?

Hoisted by their own Petard (26)
Saturday, January 15, 2022
Last week cyberspies infected themselves with their own malware

Pull up your Breaches! (25)
Saturday, January 8, 2022
You will be a breach victim sooner or later. If you don't take measures to mitigate risk, and you get breached, you could be sued.

Not Really the Last Pass (24)
Saturday, January 1, 2022
Enable 2 Factor Authentication on your LastPass account!

Happy Christmahaunukwanzadan! (23)
Saturday, December 25, 2021
More Log4j developments, more career advice for criminals, and more reasons to not click on email links.

More Log4j Stuff (22)
Saturday, December 18, 2021
We think we'll be talking about Log4j for a long time.

The Internet is Burning! (21)
Saturday, December 11, 2021
No, really. You NEED to listen to this episode before you do anything else.

Don't Click This Link! (20)
Saturday, December 4, 2021
Disturbing statistics show the US lost billions to cybercrime in 2021

UK Government Porn Site (19)
Saturday, November 27, 2021
The Dirty Dangers of DNS!

Rowhammer Time! (18)
Saturday, November 20, 2021
What happens when the digital world collides with the digital world?

World War Hack! (17)
Saturday, November 13, 2021
Nation-states are ramping up the cyberwar

The Neverending Side Story (16)
Saturday, November 6, 2021
The three amigos can't seem to stop going on tangents when discussing ransomware and other hacks.

Skim This! (15)
Saturday, October 30, 2021
Nefarious individuals can steal your credit card right underneath your nose!

Trick or Treat! (14)
Monday, October 25, 2021
This week there have been some tricks, but you'll get a treat at the end!

Beware Sharp Edges! (13)
Monday, October 18, 2021
Ransomware is the overwhelming theme for this show. As for the sharp edges, you'll have to listen to get that reference.

OK, Facebook! (12)
Monday, October 11, 2021
One good thing about last week's Facebook outage is that our kids now know what DNS is.

Don't look a grift horse in the mouth! (11)
Monday, October 4, 2021
If you have an Android phone and get apps from the Google Play store, you might have been robbed.

We were just trying to help (10)
Monday, September 27, 2021
Sometimes, well-meaning companies implement a technical solution to a problem to be helpful, and it doesn't go well.

Redemption (9)
Monday, September 20, 2021
Microsoft and Apple go on a Patch Rampage!

Not a good week for Microsoft (8)
Monday, September 13, 2021
Several attacks against Microsoft properties this week. They can't catch a break!

Living in a Zero-Trust World (7)
Saturday, September 4, 2021
A US government mandate requires authentication systems to start adopting zero-trust policies. Are you ready?

Cash for Hacks (6)
Saturday, August 28, 2021
Disgruntled employee participates in a ransomware attack against their own company! Also, what's a public/private key pair?

The Pyramid of Threats (5)
Saturday, August 21, 2021
Patrick talks about the Pyramid of Threats, a mental model to categorize threats according to their popularity (biggest at the base). The higher you go up the pyramid, the harder it is to defend yourself against the threats.

VPNs and Cruise Missiles (4)
Saturday, August 14, 2021
Carl and Patrick (no Duane this week) talk about the Colonial Pipeline ransomware hack, and Pat's thoughts on how to shut down ransomware.

This Week in Ransomware (3)
Saturday, August 7, 2021
Phishing is when a bad actor sends you an email that looks like it came from Microsoft, Amazon, Google, or some other legit company that you probably use. They give you a link to click on for some reason, and with a single click, your entire hard drive is encrypted and your computer can't be used until you pay a ransom. This week we talk about how to spot phishing emails and how big companies are getting involved to fight ransomware. Don't miss it!

It's the Little Things (2)
Saturday, July 31, 2021
It's the little things everyone can do to fortify their networks. Reboot your iPhone once a week, use the GUEST wifi network for devices that just need Internet access, and be careful who you take online aerobics classes from!

Introducing Security This Week (1)
Friday, July 23, 2021
Our pilot episode, in which we lay the groundwork for what to expect from this podcast.

An error has occurred. This application may no longer respond until reloaded. Reload 🗙